Fast Fact you need to know about MALAYSIA Information about Malaysia as overview, Provinces, Population, Nationality, Ethnic groups, religion, Language, Local time, Currency of Malaysia, Exchange rates, Measurement, Climate, Weather, History, Culture and Economic Profile
Fast Fact you need to know about MALAYSIA

Fast Fact you need to know about MALAYSIA

malaysia news, malaysia hotels, georgetown malaysia, information about Malaysia, Provinces, hotel malaysia, KLIA, heritage, kl, Nationality, Ethnic groups, kuala lumpur, kuala lumpur malaysia, malacca, Currency of Malaysia, malay, malaysia, malaysia hotels, malaysia travel, malaysian, mayflower, penang, sabah, selangor, unesco, Malaysia, Peninsular Malaysia, south east asia dreams, Malaysian people, Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Malacca, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Borneo, South China Sea, about malaysia

Malaysia and its islands are located between 2 and 7 degrees north of the Equator. The Peninsular Malaysia is separated from the states of Sabah and Sarawak by the South China Sea. To the north of Peninsular Malaysia is Thailand. To the south it borders with is Singapore. Sabah and Sarawak bounded by Indonesia. Sarawak is also sharing a border with Brunei.

Malaysia began to colonize by Great Britain in the late 18th century. The country gained independence in 1957 with Kuala Lumpur as the capital city. Malaysia has a developing economy with mostly coastal plains rising to central hills and mountains.

The Federation of Malaysia comprises Peninsular Malaysia made up of 13 states, three Federal Territories and the states of Sabah and Sarawak in Borneo.

There is a strong interlink between the country's multiracial and multicultural make-up and its history. Beside the local Malays and the native groups, immigrants from China, India, Indonesia and other parts of the world have all contributed to the multiracial composition of its population. This has made the country a cultural melting pot

A unique blend of religions, social-cultural activities and tradition, dressing, languages and food.



Country Name: The Federation of Malaysia
Government type: Parliamentary democracy with a bicameral legislative system.
Capital name: Kuala Lumpur
Geographic coordinates: 3°08°N, 101°42°E
Area: 329,847 sq. km.
Provinces: 13 states
Population: over 27 million
Nationality: Malaysian
Ethnic groups: Malays make up about 57% of the population and are the predominant group with Chinese, Indians and other ethnic groups making up the rest
Religions: Islam is the official religion but other religion are practiced freely.
Essential Information
Local time: UTC+8 (plus eight hours)
Currency of Malaysia: Ringgit (RM) (MYR)
Exchange rates: Malaysian Ringgit - Currently 1 MYR = 0.2896 USD $
Local Current: 220-240 V, 50 Hz, 3-pin square plugs and sockets. Adapter available in all hotels countrywide.
Date Format dd-mm-yyyy
Drives on the left
Internet TLD: .my
Calling Code: +60


Bahasa Melayu (Malay) is the national language, while English is widely spoken. Other languages are come Chinese dialects (Cantonese, Mandarin, Hokkien, Hakka, Hainan, Foochow), Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Panjabi, Thai, Iban and Kad

Climate / Weather

Malaysia has a tropical climate with warm weather all year around with temperatures ranging from 21C to 32 C. Annual rainfall varies from 2,000mm to 2,500 mm. Malaysia has a tropical climate with seasonal monsoons in the northeast from October to February, and southwest from April to October.

History and Culture

Apart from the local Laylays and the native groups, immigrants from China, India, Indonesia and other parts of the world have all contributed to the multiracial composition of its population. Its interesting cultural diversity can be largely attributed to the country's long and ongoing interaction with the outside world and colonial rule by the Portuguese, Dutch and the British.

The evolution of the country into a cultural melting pot is evident in the unique blend of religions, socio-cultural activities, traditions, languages and food. The country archived independence on August 31, 1957 as the Federation of Malaysia and subsequently with the entry of Sabah and Sarawak in 1963, Malaysia was formed.